General information


Angola is a country in southern Africa bordered by Namibia on the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo on the north, and Zambia on the east; its west coast is on the Atlantic Ocean with Luanda as its capital city. The exclave province of Cabinda has borders with the Republic of the Congo and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Total Area: 1,246,700 km²
Coastline: 1,600 km
Major Cities: Luanda (capital), Huambo, Lobito and Benguela
Administrative divisions: 18 provinces and 163 municipalities


Population: 18,498,000 (2009)
Ethnic Groups: 37% Ovimbundu, 25% Kimbundu, 13% Bakongo, 25% others
Languages: Portuguese (official), Umbundu, Kimbundu, Kikongo, Tchokwe and other national languages
Religion: Mainly Christian

Political System

Type of regime: Democracy
President of the Republic: José Eduardo dos Santos
Legislative branch: National Assembly
Executive branch: Head of Government (President of the Republic); Government
Judiciary branch: Supreme Court - The Courts


Currency: Kwanza (Kz); 1 EUR = 122 Kz (2012)
Natural resources: petroleum, diamonds, iron ore, phosphates, copper, gold, bauxite, uranium
Exports: oil, diamonds, refined petroleum products, gas, coffee
Imports: machinery, electrical equipment, vehicles and spare parts, medicines, food, textiles and clothing

(Source: 05/11/2012)


General information (1)